Monday, January 30, 2012

Permit Rules for North East - 2011

There are 7 North-Eastern states - which is a hidden treasure of India. Unfortunately Indian Govt always treat them as a step son. They are:

Assam, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, Manipur, Tripura, Sikkim.

Assam & Meghalaya you do not need any permit.

Nagaland had done away with permit in 2011: But, I read somewhere, it was done on experimental basis, I am not sure if they will impose it again in 2012. (This rule is applicable only for foreigners)

Sikkim: you would need permit - this can be obtained from Sikkim House in Kolkata near Maidan Metro/Under ground train station

Mizoram you would need to obtain permit - if you are traveling in group of at least 4 person you can obtain it from Kolkata, if you are alone you must obtain it from Ministry of Home Affairs in Delhi:

Arunachal Pradesh: Yes you do need a permit.

Manipur is a disturbed place at the moment.

In my opinion it is better to get the permit from Delhi.

(Contributed by CS Arghya Bhattacharya from Kolkata)

No comments:

Chronological order